Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

Beginning

Beginning

This is my entry into this weeks photo challenge: Beginning.

I was lucky enough to secure tickets to the men’s 100m at the 2012 Olympics in London.  However, right up until the last minute I was unsure whether I would even be able to go.  My wife was six days overdue with our first child on the day of the race.  She felt OK, and so we decided to do it and drove down to London, jumped on the tube and went to the stadium.

Needless to say, it was an experience I will never forget.  The energy in the stadium was incredible.  An atmosphere like I’ve never felt before.  This shot was taken just before the start.  Everyone watching held their collective breath.  Then, go.  9 and a bit seconds later, and Usain Bolt came home first.

Don’t worry folks, my wife safely delivered a baby boy four days later, although the doctors later concluded that her waters had broken on the day of the race, and that labour just hadn’t got going for some reason.  For this, I am eternally grateful.

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

  1. mightwar

    This shot brings back so many good memories of that summer and the Olympics – the first one I’ve ever watched with any kind of interest (I’m hooked now). I obtained tickets to the wheelchair basketball and had a great time. Well done for scoring tickets to the must-see event!

    Your son probably decided that he’d give you and the wife a few days to get over the excitement of the race before making his grand entrance. 😉

    Reply
    1. rickharwood Post author

      Yes, it was a really special time in London! My cricket club used to play on part of the site used for the Olympics so I know the area well. It was simply unrecognisable!

      If my son had arrived on that particular day, I think Usain might have had a challenger for that 100m title. Nothing moves faster than a man whose wife has just gone into labour….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

